Members choose Jones, Grant, code revision

September 30, 2013

Members elected Gai Jones and Anita Grant to seats on the EdTA board and approved a change in the organization’s Code of Regulations in an election that concluded Saturday at the annual EdTA membership meeting.

Both new board members will serve three-year terms.

Gai Jones, a former California chapter director who taught theatre at El Dorado High School in Placentia, California for thirty-four years, just completed a term on the board in July. She will return immediately, elected to a new seat that was created in a 2011 code revision. Anita Grant, retired from Clements High School, Sugarland, Texas, and former Texas chapter director, will take office on August 1, 2014.

The approved code change limits appointed board directors to a single four-year term. Under the previous code language, appointed board members could serve up to two consecutive three-year terms. The change becomes effective on August 1, 2015.