Candidates sought for two board seats

April 1, 2013

Two EdTA members will be elected to the Educational Theatre Association’s Board of Directors in a membership election this fall. The process of deciding who they will be begins right now.

Here’s how it works:

Starting today and continuing until May 13, the EdTA Nominating Committee will accept candidate vitae from members who want to be considered for nomination. The form for submitting vita materials is linked below.

The Nominating Committee will evaluate the qualifications of candidates based on the vita submissions and choose at least two nominees for each of the board vacancies. Those nominations will be announced on May 20.

Once the committee’s nominees are announced, any member can declare their candidacy for one of the board seats and petition to be included on the ballot alongside the committee’s candidates. A valid ballot petition must be signed by fifteen voting members from each of three different state chapters.

Electronic balloting will begin in late August. The election will conclude during the membership meeting held at the Annual EdTA Conference in Minneapolis, September 26-29.

The open board seats both have three-year terms. One is an existing position, with a term that begins on August 1, 2014. The other is a new seat, created by the board expansion provisions of a June 2011 code revision, with a term that begins immediately after the election.

“The Board of Directors plays a vital role in shaping the future of this organization and keeping us on course,” said Executive Director Julie Woffington. “I would urge any member who has a passion for our work and the energy to contribute to it to give serious consideration to serving on the board.”

The Nominating Committee, which sits for a two-year term that corresponds to the tenure of the board president, is concluding its work with this election cycle. Next year’s Nominating Committee will be the first one with members selected as provided in a September 2012 revision of the EdTA Code of Regulations.

Current members of the Nominating Committee are:

Debby Gibbs, past board president, committee chair
Jay Seller, current board vice president
J. Jason Daunter, member of the board
Ann Hileman, Indiana chapter director
Scott Wilson, Ohio chapter director
Jennifer Kelly, member at large
Julie Woffington, executive director
Diane Carr, director of chapter relations
Gloria McIntyre, current board president (ex officio)


Revised April 2, 2013: The pdf below has been updated. The original form contained an error when trying to fill in text.

Revised April 19, 2013: The pdf below has been updated. There was a header error on page 4 that has been corrected.

Revised June 7, 2013: The pdf is no longer available.